Skip to content

How to delete a Twitter account

Twitter It is a simple social network, but with certain negative points, such as the avalanche of messages or unfiltered content. The fact that there is no type of censorship when publishing certain content becomes uncomfortable for some users.

Signing up on Twitter is a simple task, however, not all people want to stay on it. For this there is the option of delete your twitter profile in just a few moments, being one of the positive aspects of the platform.

The process offers the option of temporarily unsubscribing, which is why Twitter keeps your account inactive for 30 daysso that if you regret it at any time, you can log in again to activate it or wait 30 days for it to be permanently deleted.

Delete Twitter account from Android / iOS

Twitter does not allow deleting an account from the Android and iOS applicationsonly through a web browser (Firefox, Chrome, Opera, Safari), this is unfortunate, but it is currently the case. Next, we will guide you to delete your account from the browser of your tablet or phone:

  1. go to https://twitter.com/login.
  2. Enter your phone number or email or username and the password. Press «Log in«.
  3. Press on the image of your Twitter profile. Then click on the options menu and select «Settings and privacy«.
  4. Go to the bottom and select the option «Deactivate your username«. A new screen will appear to proceed to the last step.
  5. finally you must enter your password to confirm the process temporary deactivation. After the stipulated period, all data will be permanently deleted.
  6. Clever! You only have to wait 1 month and the account will be deleted, meanwhile, no one will be able to see your public or private profile.
Important, do not log in!– Please remember not to sign in again with your account, as signing back in will reactivate your account and break the 30-day automatic deletion period.

Delete Twitter account from a computer / PC

Twitter allows you to easily delete an account from a desktop PC, but you will need a compatible browser, it can be Safari, Chrome, Opera or Edge, so it will be a quick and easy process. Next, the process for deleting an account from a computer:

  1. go to https://twitter.com.
  2. Click on «Log in«.
  3. Enter your name of username or email or phone Y password. Press «Log in«. If you don’t remember your password, click on “Forgot your password?” and follow the steps to recover the account.
  4. Click on «More options«.
  5. Select the option Settings and privacy. In it you will find all the options to configure your data on Twitter.
  6. Click on «Bill«.
  7. Press the option «Deactivate account«, you will find it at the bottom of the page.
  8. A screen will appear with a series of warnings and conditions, they will alert you to:
    • If your account was deactivated by mistake or accident, you have 30 days to restore access from deactivation
    • possibly some of the information published in your account may be accessible by search engines (Bing or Google)
    • if you only want to change your username, you should not deactivate the account, you can change it in the setting
    • If you want to use your username or email address with another Twitter account, you must change these before deactivating the account
    • you can request the file with your databut you will have to do it manually and download the data once the report is sent
  9. Press «Deactivate«.
  10. Enter your password and press the red button «Deactivate«.
  11. Clever! You have just started the automatic deletion process, it lasts 30 days and when the term expires, the account will be permanently deleted.
Remember that you can always recover your account if you log in again within 30 days, otherwise all your data will be deleted. And for your peace of mind, once this deletion process begins, no one will be able to access your public or private Twitter profile.

Why delete your Twitter account?

Normally users delete their Twitter accounts because they have opened a new one or because they receive many negative comments, after all, Twitter offers a certain “pleasant confidentiality” and many times you cannot find out who is behind an account. Likewise, if in your case you really have problems and decide to take Twitter to the law, you should know that they can always identify anyone behind an account, you can never hide too much.

There are also other reasons, for example, the uncomfortable content that is displayed, being the easiest to delete the profile and create a new one. It is also possible that the account has been compromised by third parties and they want to safeguard your privacy. They are usually the most common reasons.

https://www.cuentasysesiones.com/twitter/eliminar-cuenta