microsoft until very recently it had a monopoly on operating systems on personal computers, therefore, as it is not for all tastes and today there are many more options, you may think of how to delete a microsoft accountbut don’t worry, we will tell you the steps to follow so that you do everything correctly.
Things to know before closing a Microsoft account
- Note that for many years microsoft has been integrating many services in its platform, to such an extent that many computers that come with the operating system already integrated, bring programs like Skype, OneDrive, Outlook, and even Office 365. All of them require a Microsoft account in order to be used.
- That is why we recommend that you make a backup of the files you have in the Windows cloud.
- You will also not be able to access the Data of Xbox or GameTagand your balance will be lost forever if delete your Microsoft account.
- The subscriptions will remain activeso don’t forget to cancel them first so they don’t keep charging you.
- It is a process irreversiblealthough it is not immediate it takes about 60 days to close the accountto be sure that it was you who requested it, and you can cancel the process in that case.
- To cancel it, you just have to log in with your data and the deletion of the account will stop.
How to delete a Microsoft account forever
- See this Microsoft direct link
- Sign in with the email, phone or Skype associated with that account and click next.
- Write your email again and click on «Send code» so that Microsoft can verify your identity. If you do not have access to said email, click on «I don’t have any of the options» and it will let you add a new email.
- When you write this code a new window will appear, review all the warnings and click on «Following«.
- You will need to check all the boxes that appear in the new window, select a reason and press «Mark account for closure«.
- You will receive an email with the exact date on which will delete your Microsoft account.
- To cancel it, simply log in with your data and the whole process will be permanently canceled. That yes, you must do it before the 60 days marked in the email what you will receive, if you try it after that date, it will not be possible to recover your Microsoft account.